2016 Political Awards

by Timothy Lane5/20/16

I initiated a pair of annual political awards in my years of editing FOSFAX. One was the Walter S. Duranty Memorial Awards for Creative Journalism, awarded for the journalist whose reporting is most fictional. I started doing this in the 1990s, so there have been a large number of worthy winners.

More recently I inaugurated the Arlen W. Specter Memorial Awards for Blatant Political Opportunism. The first winner was Charlie Crist in 2010, who would fit in well with Littlechap’s Opportunist Party from Stop the World, I Want to Get Off.

Given the increasing difficulties we have doing FOSFAX, though I do hope to complete the latest issue, I have decided to bring these awards to Stubborn Things, where I spend a lot more time now. So I’m throwing the field open for nominations to both awards for this year.

Timothy Lane writes from Louisville, Kentucky and publishes the FOSFAX fanzine.
About Author  Author Archive  Email Have a blog post you want to share? Click here. • (521 views)

This entry was posted in Blog Post. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2016 Political Awards

  1. Kung Fu Zu Kung Fu Zu says:

    This will take some consideration as the field is vast and possible nominees legion.

    • Timothy Lane says:

      Every year there are lots of newsliars who merit the Duranty Award. As for the Specter Award, this year it might go to one of the Republicans who hit Trump the hardest and then joined him the most obsequiously — such as Chris Christie or Rick Perry. But there are other possibilities as well.

  2. Brad Nelson Brad Nelson says:


    Journalistic tramp of the year: Megyn Kelly.

    The Arlen W. Specter Memorial Award for Blatant Political Opportunism: Ben Carson, Sarah Palin

    The Walter S. Duranty Memorial Award for Creative Journalism: Rush Limbaugh for his ability to creatively sit on the fence regarding Donald Trump.

    • Timothy Lane says:

      The first is irrelevant to this particular set of awards. Carson doesn’t impress me as being as blatant an opportunist as Perry or Christie; I think his motivation was revenge, not opportunism, whereas Perry quickly expressed his willingness to be Trump’s running mate. Palin is harder to rate, since she didn’t have a prior history of denouncing Trump. Limbaugh isn’t exactly a journalist, though he’s probably close enough when discussing issues seriously. However, his coverage lacked the dishonesty that I would associate with Duranty, though I think I can see what you mean.

  3. Timothy Lane says:

    In view of recent events, I recommend Perky Katie Couric for the Walter S. Duranty Memorial Award for Creative Journalism for her recent gun control mockumentary, especially her defense of the creative editing designed to make it appear that gun-rights advocates had no answer to a particular question on background checks when in fact they had plenty of answers.

  4. Timothy Lane says:

    Well, it’s time to make nominations for 2017 — and for that matter, 2016 as well if anyone wants. I suppose the best choice for the 2017 Duranty Award is Brian Ross, given that his misreporting actually had a significant effect. (His suspension ended today, according to reports — but he didn’t show up on ABC News.) For 2016, a good choice may be Nate Silver for his excessive confidence in the Slick Hilly win that was also what he hoped for.

    The best choice for the Specter Award would be either a “moderate” Demagogue who voted with the far-left leaders almost all the time. My personal favorite for that is proably Joe Manchin. An alternative possibility would be one of the slimiest of the Never Trump Republicans. There I think the first choice would be John McCain.

    Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *